Lithuania became first European country to introduce “Savchenko list”


Lithuanian authorities banned the entry to the country to 46 Russian citizens and residents of DPR and LPR, who are related to the trial of Ukrainian citizens Nadiya Savchenko, Oleg Sentsov, and Alexander Kolchenko.

Lithuanian Foreign Minister Linas Linkevičius said that “we are talking about specifically Russian judges, prosecutors, who are directly involved in these people’s cases. At the moment, 46 people are listed who are prohibited from entering the territory of Lithuania”.

According to his words, quoted by Delfi, the list could be extended. Thus, Lithuania became the first and so far the only country of the European Union, which imposed sanctions against Russia in connection with Savchenko‘s case.

The head of the Lithuanian Foreign Ministry expressed his hope that the Vilnius’ step will encourage other countries to follow its example. Linkevičius added that the proposed to the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Federica Mogherini to introduce similar sanctions across the EU, but this initiative has not been supported yet.

On March 22, the Donetsk city court of the Rostov region of the Russian Federation has found Ukrainian pilot Nadiya Savchenko guilty of involvement in the murder of Russian journalists in eastern Ukraine, and sentenced her to 22 years in a penal colony.



Image:Mr.TinDC (under CC BY 2.0)