Putin dismissed 10 more generals of police, Investigative Committee and Federal Penitentiary Service


Russian president Vladimir Putin dismissed 10 generals from the Ministry of Internal Affairs, the Investigative Committee (IC), and the Federal Penitentiary Service (FPS). The corresponding decree was published on the internet portal of legal information.

In particular, the following officers lost their posts:

  • the head of the transport department of the Ministry of Internal Affairs in the Volga Federal District, Lieutenant-General Vladimir Berglezov;
  • the head of the investigation department of the IC in Primorye, Lieutenant-General Sergei Bobrovnichy;
  • the FPS chief in the Saratov region, Major General Alexander Gnezdilov;
  • the first deputy head of the Moscow University of the Ministry of Internal Affairs, Major-General Sergei Zhevlakovich;
  • the head of the department for educational, social and psychological work of the FPS, Major-General Alexander Novikov;
  • the head of the regional police department of the Samara region, Lieutenant-General Sergei Solodovnikov;
  • the chief of the regional police department of the Vologda region, Major-General Vitaly Fedotov;
  • senior investigator of the IC for especially important cases, Major-General Alexander Filin;
  • the chief of the Main Directorate of the Ministry of Internal Affairs for the Nizhny Novgorod region, Lieutenant-General Ivan Shayev;
  • the chief of the FPS in Mordovia region, Major-General Ramazan Yagyaev.

Putin also dismissed the prosecutor of the Jewish Autonomous Region Lydia Dyakonova, and the prosecutor of Chuvashia Sergei Legostaev.

The reasons for the personnel reshuffle were not disclosed.

Another large-scale dismissal of high-ranked officers took place in February 2016. At that time 16 generals lost their positions.

Source: RIA