European Parliament approved visa-free regime for Ukraine


The proposal to grant visa-free regime to Ukraine, that the European Commission made at a plenary session of the European Parliament in Strasbourg, was supported by an absolute majority of votes: 521 deputies voted for, 75 against, and 36 abstained.

Thus, in the near future Ukrainians will not be required to obtain a visa for the entry into the countries of the European Union.

The President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko congratulated his fellow citizens on his Facebook page.

It should be noted that the visa-free regime is unlikely to significantly affect the labor migration from Ukraine to the European Union countries: the possibility of entering the countries of the Schengen Area does not grant the right to permanent residence, education, or work in the territory of the European Union. In addition, Ukrainians will be able to stay in the EU for no longer than 90 days during each period of 180 days. If they need to stay for a longer period, the visa will still have to be issued. The same requirement applies to work permits.

Ukrainians will be able to enter all EU member states except for Great Britain and Ireland, and also in the territory of the associated countries-participants of the Schengen agreement: Norway, Switzerland, Iceland and Liechtenstein.